Collection from the Museum of Warmia and Masuria in Olsztyn.

The exhibition presents the works of artists, outstanding personalities, created in the first three decades of the 20th century. An exception is the youthful sketch of Aniela Pająkówna dating back to 1882. Among the 13 exhibited works, as many as 12 are portraits, most of which were created using pastel technique by masters of this field – Teodor Axentowicz, Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz, Kazimierz Mordasewicz.
Although the authors are not connected by any artistic community, or membership in any artistic formations (apart from Witkacy and Tymon Niesiołowski, members of the "Formists" group active in the years 1917–1922), in their work you may find choices pertaining to artistic education common for many.

Tymon Niesiołowski, Władysław Jarodzki and, for a short time, Witkacy studied painting under the direction of Józef Mehoffer at the Academy of Fine Arts in Cracow. Teodor Axentowicz, professor at said Academy and its two-time president, was the founder of the Painting School for Women in Cracow (1897), attended by Aniela Pająkówna and Irena Serda-Zbigniewiczowa (at the time, women could not enter the Academy). Stanisław Masłowski and Kazimierz Mordasewicz began their artistic education in the Warsaw Drawing School under the direction of Wojciech Gerson and Aleksander Kamiński, and continued their studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in St. Petersburg.

Most of the artists undertook further studies at Munich and Paris Art Academies, and travelled to the greatest European museums, studying the pieces of masters. Among them are creators of a strong, recognized status – Axentowicz, Mehoffer, Jarocki, Niesiołowski, Witkacy. The oeuvre of Pająkówna, Serda-Zbigniewiczowa, Masłowski and Mordasewicz was scattered and forgotten, but they too have their place in the history of Polish painting of the first half of the 20th century.

Teodor Axentowicz (1859–1938)
Władysław Jarocki (1879–1965)
Stanisław Masłowski (1853–1926)
Józef Mehoffer (1854–1929)
Kazimierz Mordasewicz (1859–1923)
Tymon Niesiołowski (1882–1965)
Aniela Pająkówna (1864–1912)
Irena Serda-Zbigniewiczowa (1863–1954)
Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz (1885–1939)